Always … Patsy Cline

A musical biography in 2 Acts: written and directed by Ted Swindley. Addtional material by Ellis Nassour. Music written by various composers. See Musical numbers for details. First presented 1990

Variety Arts Theatre, Off-Broadway - 9th June, 1997 - 7th December, 1997 (192 perfs - 16 Previews)


Always...Patsy Cline is based on the true story of Patsy Cline's friendship with Houston housewife Louise Seger.

Having first heard Cline on the "Arthur Godfrey Show" in 1957, Seger became an immediate and avid fan of Cline's and she constantly hounded the local disc jockey to play Cline's records on the radio.

In 1961 when Cline went to Houston for a show, Seger and her buddies arrived about an hour-and-a-half early and, by coincidence, met Cline who was travelling alone. The two women struck up a friendship that was to culminate in Cline spending the night at Seger's house - a friendship that lasted until Cline's untimely death in a 'plane crash in 1963.

The relationship, which began as fan worship, evolved into one of mutual respect. It is the kind of relationship that many fans would like to have with their heroes.

Over a pot of strong coffee, the two women chatted about their common concerns. When Cline finally left for Dallas, her next job, the two women had exchanged addresses and telephone numbers. Seger never expected to hear from Cline again, but soon after she left, Seger received the first of many letters and phone calls from Cline. The pen-pal relationship provides much of the plot of the show.

The play focuses on the fateful evening at Houston's Esquire Ballroom when Seger hears of Cline's death in a 'plane crash. Seger supplies a narrative while Cline floats in and out of the set singing tunes that made her famous - "Anytime", "Walkin' After Midnight", "She's Got You", "Sweet Dreams", and "Crazy" to name a few.

The show combines humour, sadness and reality. It offers fans who remember Cline while she was alive a chance to look back, while giving new fans an idea of what seeing her was like and what she meant to her original fans.

Musical Numbers

  1. Walkin' After Midnight (Don Hecht / Alan Block)
  2. Back In Baby's Arms (Bob Montgomery)
  3. Anytime (Herbert Happy Lawson)
  4. Honky Tonk Merry Go Round (Frank Simon / Stan Gardner)
  5. I Fall To Pieces (Hank Cochran / Harlan Howard)
  6. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels (J.D. Miller)
  7. Come On In (and sit right down) (V.F. "Pappy" Stewart)
  8. Stupid Cupid (Neil Sedaka / Howard Greenfield)
  9. Your Cheatin' Heart (Hank Williams, Sr.)
  10. You Belong To Me (Pee Wee King, Redd Stewart, and Chilton Price)
  11. I Love You Honey ( Eddie Miller / W.S. Stevenson)
  12. Lovesick Blues(Irving Mills / C Friend)
  13. If I Could See The World (Through the eyes of a child) - (Sammy Masters / Richard Pope)
  14. She's Got You (Hank Cochran)
  15. Sweet Dreams (Don Gibson)
  16. Three Cigarettes In An Ashtray (Eddie Miller / W.S. Stevenson)
  17. Crazy (Willie Nelson)
  18. Seven Lonely Days (Earl Schuman / Walden Schuman / Marshall Brown)
  19. Just a Closer Walk (Traditional)
  20. Gotta Lotta Rhythm (Barbara Ann Vaughn /W.S. Stevenson)
  21. Shake Rattle And Roll (Charles Calhoun)
  22. Blue Moon of Kentucky (Bill Monroe)
  23. Faded Love - (John Wills / Bob Wills)
  24. True Love - (Cole Porter)
  25. How Great Thou Art (Traditional)
  26. If You've Got Leavin' On Your Mind (Wayne Walker / Webb Pierce)
  27. Bill Bailey (Traditional)