powered by FreeFind


SHOUT! The Mod Musical

1 act Revue: Co-Creator: Phillip George and David Lowenstein; Continuity: Peter Charles Morris

SHOUT! is the mod musical magazine that brings back the beautiful birds and smashing sounds that made England swing in the '60s.

From cover-to-cover SHOUT! travels in time from 1960 to 1970 chronicling the dawning liberation of women. Just as Dusty Springfield, Petula Clark, Cilla Black, and Lulu were independent women with major careers, English and American women were redefining themselves in the face of changing attitudes about gender. SHOUT! reflects that change through the unforgettable music of the time.

Though SHOUT! wears its heart on its sleeve, it also has its tongue planted firmly in its cheek. Everything from the period is recreated - from the fashions and the dances to the music and the hair; all of which is heightened and made just a tiny bit larger.

With a shimmy and shake, the songs are tied together by hilarious sound bites from the period - from '60s advertisements for anything and everything - to lonely hearts letters answered by an advice columnist who thinks every problem can be solved with a "fetching new hair style and a new shade of lipstick."

Musical Numbers

  1. England Swings/'Round Every Corner/I Know a Place
  2. I Only Want to Be with You/Tell the Boys (Medley)
  3. How Can You Tell?
  4. Wishin' & Hopin'
  5. One Two Three
  6. To Sir with Love
  7. Don't Sleep in the Subway
  8. Son of a Preacher Man
  9. James Bond Theme/Goldfinger
  10. You Don't Have to Say You Love Me
  11. Diamonds Are Forever
  12. Puppet on a String
  13. Georgy Girl/Windy (Medley)
  14. Who Am I?
  15. Don't Give Up
  16. I Just Don't Know What to Do with Myself
  17. These Boots Are Made for Walkin'
  18. I Couldn't Live Without Your Love
  19. You're My World/All I See Is You (Medley)
  20. Those Were the Days
  21. Shout!
  22. Goin' Back
  23. Downtown
  24. Downtown (Dance Remix)