powered by FreeFind



Cover to original cast recording

A Musical in 2 Acts. Music by BOY GEORGE; Book by MARK DAVIES.

THE VENUE, London - 29 January, 2002. Closed 12 April, 2002


The action is set in the flamboyant London club scene. It was a world of narcissism and camp bitchery, strongly influenced by what pop stars such as David Bowie had been doing 10 years earlier.

Against the gay and decadent background of clubbers we have a traditional boy-meets-girl story. The fresh-faced hero Billy abandons dreary Bromley, determined to become a "face" on the London scene. He falls for Kim who, beneath her "goth" warpaint turns out to be a devastatingly pretty, touchingly vulnerable virgin. True love, however, doesn't run smoothly!

Original Cast

Musical Numbers

  1. Ode to Attention Seekers  - Philip Sallon and Freaks
  2. Safe In the City  - Billy
  3. Freak - Philip Sallon and Freaks
  4. Stranger In This World - Boy George
  5. Genocide Peroxide - Marilyn
  6. I'll Have You All - Leigh Bowery, Billy and Philip
  7. Love Is a Question Mark - Billy and Kim
  8. Shelter - Petal and Tarts
  9. Pretty Lies - Kim
  10. Guttersnipe - George and Marilyn
  11. Talk Amongst Yourselves - Josie
  12. Do You Really Want To Hurt Me - Boy George
  13. Touched By the Hand of Cool - Leigh, Billy and Slaves
  14. Everything Taboo - Leigh and Full Company
  15. Petrified - Philip Sallon
  16. I See Through You – Billy
  17. Independent Woman - Josie, Kim and Philip
  18. Ich bin kunst - Leigh Bowery
  19. Out of Fashion - Steve Strange
  20. Il Adore - Big Sue
  21. Pie In the Sky - Boy George