powered by FreeFind


Dusty - The Original Pop Diva


By John Michael Howson, David Mitchell and Melvyn Morrow

World Premiere - Jan 12 2006, The Arts Centre Melbourne.


In the 1950's a star-struck, plain and dumpy London schoolgirl imagines she could become a glamorous movie idol. Her parents tell her that her fantasies will never come true and not to dream the impossible dream. But nothing deters her. Blessed with an amazing voice and talent, she sets out to become a singer and a star. Soon, plain Mary O'Brien has transformed herself into the blonde pop icon, Dusty Springfield. But while Dusty, the gorgeous blonde star, is the image the world sees, it is an illusion behind which little Mary O'Brien still lives; the alter ego from which Dusty can never escape and who remains with her throughout her life.

In the 1960s Dusty Springfield takes the entertainment world by storm with a score of hits, a top TV show and a legion of fans. But the success she wanted is hollow and real happiness eludes her. Driven by her sense of perfection, Dusty takes on the world even as she discovers a desperate need to be loved in a way that could cause her career to crash. At the pinnacle of international success, with triumphs in Britain and America, Dusty finds the pressure unbearable. Unable to be what other people expect, and finding the spotlight's heat can burn, she retreats from the world into a dark place.

Finding strength in adversity, Dusty returns to soar to the top. With the world applauding again, she has one more battle to fight.

Musical Numbers

  1. I Only Want To Be With You
  2. Goin’ Back
  3. Mama’S Little Girl
  4. Little By Little
  5. Silver Threads & Golden Needles
  6. In The Middle Of Nowhere
  7. Nothing Has Been Proved
  8. Wishin’ & Hopin’ (Stereo Version)
  9. Look Of Love
  10. Stay Awhile
  11. Who Can I Turn To? (When Nobody Needs Me)
  12. I Just Don’T Know What To Do With Myself
  13. Windmills Of Your Mind
  14. Son Of A Preacher Man
  15. Soft Core
  16. If You Go Away (Ft Peter Knight)
  17. My Colouring Book
  18. All Cried Out
  19. I Think It’S Gonna Rain Today (Ft Peter Knight)
  20. What Have I Done To Deserve This (Ft Pet Shop Boys)
  21. Anyone Who Had A Heart
  22. All I See Is You
  23. Goodbye
  24. You Don’T Have To Say You Love Me

Cast Requirements:

9 Female, 8 Male, 1 Girl + numerous small roles, showgirls, drag queens, fans, backing group.

Genre / Style: Musical Drama, Pop Sound

Rehearsal / Orchestral Material: Orchestral Scores: Full Scores, Keyboard 1 (Acoustic Piano and Electric Piano), Keyboard 2 (2 keyboards required for the one player), Guitar (Acoustic and Electric), Bass (Electric) Drums (Kit and a Mark Tree) Trumpet and Flugel, Alto Sax /Alto and Flute Tenor Sax/Tenor and Clarinet, Trombone.